The evening college was a part of the undivided Rishi Bankim Chandra College for a long time – at least until 1984 – and thus shared the ups and downs of the common journey. In the 1970s and 1980s, Dr. Haridas Gupta was the Principal of the undivided college for a considerable spell of time. Prof. Sunil Datta being the Vice-Principal was specially in charge of the Evening Shift. In those days, many full-time teachers of the Day Shift worked as part time teachers in the Evening Shift. The big Rishi Bankim Chandra College family used to get re-united at the time of annual feast or in the programs of the Staff Cooperative Society. After the trifurcation, Prof. Mrinal Chakraborty functioned for a long time as the Professor-in-charge of the institution. 


   Dr. Alok Chattopadhyay became the first full-time Principal of Rishi Bankim Chandra Evening College and his tenure lasted up to 2005. Among his office staff, Sri Suranjan Sarkar, Sri Gopal Chakraborty, Sri Swapan Ganguly etc. are some of the notable figures who sincerely worked hard to make effective contribution to the growth of this college.  

The academic colleagues of Dr. Chattopadhyay in this college who are no longer in service now were Prof. Arun Mukhopadhyay, Prof. Robin Goswami, Prof. Kalyan Shil, Prof. Bhabesh Ray, Prof. Prodipta Nath Ray, Prof. Badrul Hassan, Prof. Satibrata Mitra and many others. With a heavy heart do we still remember that Prof. P.N. Ray, who even worked as Professor-in-charge for a short tenure after the retirement of Dr. Alok Chattopadhyay, has left this mortal world.